After Action of Dan John’s Meat, Leaves, and Berries

Dan John

Dan John

In this article Dan John spoke of eating only meat, leaves, and berries.

The plan as written would not work for me.  I need my morning coffee with cream and sugar and also need my Friday night pizza and popcorn with my family.  Based upon this I executed as follows:

  • Eat as much meat and as many leaves and fruits and berries as I want to.
  • No eating after 7pm (Except on Friday).
  • Cream and sugar are allowed in my morning coffee.
  • On Fridays I eat pizza and popcorn with my family.
  • Walk for 45 minutes upon waking Monday through Friday prior to consuming anything with a caloric value.
  • Do 100 two-handed kettlebell swings with a 24kg kettlebell following the walk.  I did this by four sets of 25 repetitions.

Thirty days later I have:

  • Lost 14 pounds.
  • Feel more energized and less sluggish in almost everything I do.
  • Sleep much better.

All of the above has led to an improved quality of life.  Due to the quantity of food I consumed I never felt hungry but still burned fat.  I suggest you give this a try for 30 days and see where you end up.  Note that this was all I did for 30 days.  I think the key to this being sustainable was that I wasn’t doing a lot of activities that increased my appetite.

