Barbell Plan Update

I searched Google for images related to "plan" and this is what came up.  Yes I know it has nothing to do with this blog post.

I searched Google for images related to “plan” and this is what came up. Yes I know it has nothing to do with this blog post.

 

I posted my original barbell plan in November, 2013 CLICK.

Based upon my shoulder injury, more research, and attending the RTS seminar CLICK I updated my template and it is listed below for those who are interested.

New weekly template for Volume Cycles will be:

Day 1:

Press, Yates Row

Day 2:

Squat, DL

Day 3:

Run for 30 to 90 minutes.

Day 4:

Press, Yates Row 

Volume Cycle for three to six weeks will be five ladders of 1-2-3 between an RPE of 7.5-8.5 microloading from week to week with an additional 1.5lbs for upper body and 2.5lbs for lower body exercises. Each ladder set of 1-2-3 will be immediately supersetted with a pull-up ladder of 1-2-3.  Pull-ups will be until my Adam’s Apple is above the bar. 

New weekly template for Intensity Cycles will be:

Day 1:

Press

Day 2:

Squat

Day 3:

Run for 30 minutes

Day 4:

DL

Intensity Cycle for two weeks will be sets of three working up to a top set of three at an RPE of 9-10 then dropping the weight by 8% and doing sets of three until I reach the same RPE. 

Transition / Rehab Cycle Weekly Template

Day 1: Press

Day 2: Deadlift

Day 3: Squat

Transition / Rehab Cycle for one week where I will execute five sets of five repetitions with a fixed weight at an RPE of 7.

Overall focus will be on quality of execution first and adding weight second.

More detailed information regarding my progress can be found in my log at IrongarmX CLICK.

