50/20 After Action Report

In this post CLICK I outlined my plan to execute Bryce Lane’s 50/20 program four days per week — double kettlebell strict overhead press day; double kettlebell front squat day; rest day; double kettlebell strict overhead press day; double kettlebell front squat day; rest; rest.  Below are the results after three weeks.

First 50/20 Session Double Kettlebell Strict Overhead Press with 2x24kg Kettlebells:  48 repetitions

Last 50/20 Session Double Kettlebell Strict Overhead Press with 2x24kg Kettlebells:  68 repetitions

First 50/20 Session Double Kettlebell Front Squat with 2x32kg Kettlebells:  39 repetitions

Last 50/20 Session Double Kettlebell Front Squat with 2x32kg Kettlebells:  61 repetitions

Observations:

1.  This program made me extremely hungry.  I ate.  I grew.  I am now eight pounds heavier.  I have no doubt some of it is fat.  I have no doubt that some of it is muscle.

2.  The simplicity of this program “set timer, execute” really dumps a lot of mental baggage from your head.

3.  At the end of each session I felt less fatigued compared to a traditional “work, rest for x minutes, work” type of workout.  However, at the end of each week the combined fatigue was much higher than a week of a traditional program.

4.  Four sessions per week is a bit much.  If I were to do this again I would have programmed three days per week doing a double kettlebell strict overhead press day; double kettlebell front squat day; and a superset day where I did the press immediately followed by the squat during the 20 minute period.

5.  I had missed my no-gi grappling class for a few weeks due to childcare issues.  When I returned I found myself having better cardio endurance, feeling more resilient though I don’t know exactly how to describe that better, and I was able to survive longer when rolling with guys who outweigh me by 40lbs.  This truly proved to me the idea that “for cardio I lift weights faster.”

6.  Per Bryce’s original 50/20 guidance I would not try this program for longer than three weeks.

