Kettlebell Frankenstein Update

Frankenstein-looks-stares-and-blinks-animated-gif

In this post on August 22, 2013, CLICK I outlined a program I called “Kettlebell Frankenstein” which drew inspiration from amazing folks such as Francis E. West, M.D., Jim Wendler, Dan John, LtCol Stanley J. Pasieka, Jr, USMC(Ret), and Steve Shafley.

I executed the program for five weeks and it went well.  Most notably I increased my strength as measured by the number of repetitions that I could perform in the final “as many repetitions as possible” set in the Kettlebell Overhead Press and Kettlebell Front Squat.  I added several repetitions to my weighted pull-ups with my final set being nine quality repetitions with a 16kg kettlebell.  My max pull-ups without weight was 16.  The combination of two days a week Recon Ron pull-ups with two days a week of weighted pull-ups worked well.  The five minutes of farmer’s walk out and back were executed using a 24kkg kettlebell in each hand.  This was fun as it both challenged my grip strength and freaked out my neighbors as I wandered around the area at night with a kettlebell in each hand.  I initially had trouble sleeping at night due to forearm soreness from the farmer’s walk.  The ring dips were new to me and I was horrible at them.  I “laddered” up to a set of four slow and controlled dips which is still horrible.  I will continue working these in the future.  The runs were often slow and plodding but between the squatting and farmer’s walks this is to be expected.

One error with this program was my planned swapping of exercises.  For some reason I got it in my head that a kettlebell snatch was a “push” vice a “hinge” in Dan John speak.  Had I continued on my planned swapping of exercises I would have ended up with a schedule having no “push” exercise.  When I discovered this error rather than reinforce a planning failure I decided to execute the first five-week cycle and call it.  What I executed is listed below.  I found it to be a good general strength program that could be used as a break after a density program.

Saturday:

–  Kettlebell Overhead Press (5, 3, As Many Repetitions As Possible)

–  Kettlebell Front Squat (5, 3, As Many Repetitions As Possible)

–  Weighted Pull-Up (5, 3, As Many Repetitions As Possible)

Sunday:   

–  Run Three Miles

–  Recon Ron Pull-Up Program (5 Sets / Bodyweight Only)

Monday:

–  Kettlebell Swing (20 reps with one kettlebell / 10 reps with two kettlebells)

–  Weighted Pull-Up (5, 3, As Many Repetitions As Possible)

–  Farmer’s Walk (5 Minutes Out, Whatever It Takes Back, 2x24kg Kettlebells)

Tuesday:

–  Run Three Miles

–  Recon Ron Pull-Up Program (5 Sets / Bodyweight Only)

Wednesday:

–  Kettlebell Overhead Press (5, 3, As Many Repetitions As Possible)

–  Kettlebell Front Squat (5, 3, As Many Repetitions As Possible)

–  Ring Dips (Ladders 1-2-3-4-5)

