Kettlebell Frankenstein

Frankenstein-looks-stares-and-blinks-animated-gif

It’s alive!

As a fitness enthusiast (read — hobbyist) I do the same as many by following experts in the field and then knitting bits and pieces together into something that works for me.

The below borrows from:

Francis E. West, M.D., CLICK, “Three exercise bouts per week offer the minimum frequency with which exercises may be performed with effectiveness.”

Jim Wendler, CLICK, “The final set of your core lift in each workout is the one that produces mass and strength, so give it everything you have, and get as many reps as you can with that weight.”

Dan John, and his discussions on a great many things to include push, pull, hinge, squat, and loaded carries, CLICK, as well as realistic repetitions, CLICK.

LtCol Stanley J. Pasieka, Jr, USMC(Ret) who wrote “Over the Top on Dead Hang’ Pull-Ups” in the December, 1981 edition of Marine Corps Gazette CLICK.

Steve Shafley and his ladder program CLICK.

Here is my Franken-routine which I will begin on Saturday, 24 August, 2013.

Saturday:

–  Kettlebell Overhead Press (5, 3, As Many Repetitions As Possible; Goal is 5,3,15)

–  Kettlebell Front Squat (5, 3, As Many Repetitions As Possible; Goal is 5,3,15)

–  Weighted Pull-Up (5, 3, As Many Repetitions As Possible; Goal is 5,3,15)

Sunday:   

–  Run Three Miles

–  Recon Ron Pull-Up Program (5 Sets / Bodyweight Only)

Monday:

–  Kettlebell Swing (20 reps with one kettlebell / 10 reps with two kettlebells / work up to 100 repetitions total)

–  Weighted Pull-Up (5, 3, As Many Repetitions As Possible; Goal is 5,3,15)

–  Farmer’s Walk (5 Minutes Out, Whatever It Takes Back, 2x32kg Kettlebells)

Tuesday:

–  Run Three Miles

–  Recon Ron Pull-Up Program (5 Sets / Bodyweight Only)

Wednesday:

–  Kettlebell Overhead Press (5, 3, As Many Repetitions As Possible; Goal is 5,3,15)

–  Kettlebell Front Squat (5, 3, As Many Repetitions As Possible; Goal is 5,3,15)

–  Ring Dips (Ladders 1-2-3-4-5)

Notes:

I will switch from single to double kettlebells then to a heavier single and heavier doubles as I feel able to do so.

I will begin weighted pull-ups with a 16kg kettlebell.  Once I can do 5,3,15 I will switch to a 24kg kettlebell.

I will add additional ladders / repetitions to the dips as I feel able to do so.

I am going to try this five-week on / one week off then move to the second cycle.

The second cycle will switch Kettlebell Overhead Press for Kettlebell Snatch.

The second cycle switches Kettlebell Swings and Kettlebell Front Squats thus having two Kettlebell Swing days and one Kettlebell Front Squat day which is the opposite of the first cycle.

The second cycle switches the Farmer’s Walk for the Suitcase Walk.

All I can do is try and report my findings.  All the routine can do is work or not.  More to follow!

Thank you to all of the authors I listed above.  If not for you people like me would have less to aspire to!

