My Favorite Coaches, Personalities, and Forums

1. Mike Mahler / Click

I began following Mike because his emphasis on lifting heavy (24kg-32kg and higher) kettlebells appealed to me.  At the time the kettlebell world seemed overwhelmed with “swing a 16kg a billion times for killer cardio and abs of steel” one liners that were annoying.  Beyond kettlebells Mike focuses on all aspects of improvement from mindset to hormone optimization.  I like that Mike loves what he does but does not hesitate to tell you that he is running a business.  I like that Mike doesn’t sell or endorse anything that he has not tested himself.  Mike even talks on YouTube and his podcast about what business techniques work and fail in the fitness industry.  As a consumer I feel like this level of integrity isn’t seen enough in the fitness industry where many try to cloak their financial motivation in altruism and all to often have never tried what they are selling.  Mike’s YouTube channel is very informative Click.  I find his videos inspiring because the backyard setting gives an “Average Joe” feel and one can envision themselves doing the same exercises in their own backyard.  Mike makes things seem possible.  Mike’s  podcast with Sincere Hogan of New Warrior Training Click is available here Click.  I enjoy the podcast while running and commuting to and from work.  The podcast is equal parts knowledge, mindset, and comedy.  I suggest you check it out.

Mike Mahler

Mike Mahler

2. Adam T. Glass / Click

I discovered Adam about eight months ago and find his website to be highly informative.  His article about kettlebell training is great as Adam doesn’t allow himself to be bogged down in drama — he just wants to get stronger.  Adam lifts heavy, lifts kettlebells, and performs other strongman related activities that are truly impressive.  If you think you are strong go to Adam’s website and see what he can do.  Standby to be humbled.

Adam T. Glass

Adam T. Glass

3. Josh Hanagarne / Click

I discovered Josh as I explored Adam T. Glass’ website.  Josh is a librarian who has used strength training as a tool to develop physical command of his body to help address Tourette’s Syndrome.  Josh’s story is inspiring.  I plan to purchase and read his book soon.

Josh Hanagarne

Josh Hanagarne

4. IrongarmX / Click

IrongarmX is an uncensored forum focused on all things strength related.  Note that I said it is uncensored.  If you visit you will find the content to be an equal distribution of in-depth strength training knowledge, extreme wit, and profanity. The information available on IrongarmX has no equal.  Quite simply this is my favorite forum.

irongarmx-logo

5. Power and Bulk / Click

Power and Bulk focuses on just that. It too balances knowledge with profanity. Though power and bulk are not my main effort there is much to learn from this forum and I suggest you visit.

im2

6. Ross Training / Click

Ross Enamait’s forum is great because it is equal parts strength, conditioning, and circuit training.  This forum is moderated, balanced, and has something for everyone.  Ross’ homemade equipment ideas are particularly interesting to those of us on a budget.

Ross Enamait

Ross Enamait

